“I am Free”

6 Oct

WP_20131006_002

Hello Everyone,  How are you today? I woke up at 7:13 am and here in South Florida was partly cloudy…The birds were chirping away, I could hear the Blue-jays as a matter of fact here is a picture of one landing on the fence…WP_20131006_007hope you can see it…the mockingbirds were also singing their song along with the pigeons…from a far distance I could hear the sounds of a woodpecker creating his home & maybe if we are lucky the sun will start to shine by the looks of it so far it seams that way…

Everyone in my neighborhood was still asleep it was very quiet…it sure is amazing to hear and admire nature at its best in the morning…I love it!!

Moving along…

I wanted to discuss a few things here with you today..mainly because this is the domestic violence awareness month & I feel its time I open up a little bit more…I want to share some of my personal experiences, because I feel other people can benefit from it. We live in a world that is full of anguish,sadness,poverty,depression…some cases are worst than others…I sat around my home for a while fighting against most of these cases, looking for ways to bring violence to an end…and battling things on my own which I have learned to call “demons”, these things have hunt me for years.

Unlike other people, I am just a regular person who’s hopes and dreams have been demolished and stumbled…but I refuse to stay down…I keep on fighting because I believe that as long as I have a great amount of courage I can accomplish anything that is possible…but again, I am human…I have a past.

I read and admire the work of many of my followers, I must say I follow a whole lot of you here on this website among others, I have to admit you guys are amazing…please keep them coming. I wanted to make a special blog then I thought to myself…Why should I? no one ever reads anything I post…then I said to myself do it anyway…this is what you love and this is your passion don’t let anything stop you…you are a different person now, its time to share this with the world.

The next question was…how do I get the attention of the right audience? I said to myself…just go with the flow and the let your fingers guide your brain to speak to them, if they read they read and if they don’t at least you tried…

I’m going to tell you a little bit about what I’ve been up to for the past year and what I’ve found out…Are you ready?

Most of you know me as Jeannette Moreno, I am a Mother first,a friend to many,an Author and an advocate who fights to protect the human rights and wont rest until domestic violence and child abuse can come to an end…or at least stronger laws are acquired. I support several causes 2 of which are my own and I am not afraid to speak my mind nor stand up for what I believe in…I also dedicated my spare time to help the community I live in, get my hands dirty helping out with several projects, stand out in the burning sun collecting signatures in front of the court house for the democratic party during election year…for which I was never acknowledged…all for the cause to see a better America, more jobs,better education for our children, better healthcare, increase the minimum wage, reduce gun violence, stronger laws against bullying and much more…I fought the fight…I stepped in and took the pledge…Yet I was never acknowledged…

Last year alone, I as a humanitarian took the chance and did the unthinkable, I sheltered a family of 5 for nearly 6 months…coasting me almost everything I owned and a few thousand dollars in damages after they were gone…not to mention the stress they left behind, the soar heart and so much more…to tell you a bit more, they even tried to ruin me by making me out to be a monster to people who don’t even know me from a whole in the wall, lies they only believe themselves and needless to say I feel for those who believe them for they have no clue what they in for…I really hope that they change their ways and grow a little for the sake of their children…because if they don’t, its going to be a lonely sad road for them…that my friends was an eye opener for me.

From that experience I learned that no matter how much you try to make a change in the world, you cant unless the person wants to change and better him/herself.

I decided to change my way of thinking, how I looked at life and see it in a different view…I decided that for once in my life I was going to listen to someone else voice instead of my inner voice and allow them to help me see what I couldn’t see…(I was allowing myself to be used and abused, manipulated and disrespected by others without even knowing.) The ones who stood by me showed me that I was no longer a victim of my past, that I needed to let myself go and focus on what matter…ME.

I realized that even after all the years I was free from my batterer, the abuse didn’t stop there. I was being abused by the negative people around me, and allowing them to keep me in the cycle of abuse without even noticing the signs…I became completely aware of what was happening when the new person in my life, my boyfriend, told me he was going to walk away and never come back if I continued allowing people to use me and take advantage of me and my children…he told me that I needed to remember that a woman should always be mother first before she can be anything else…to open my eyes and see what’s happening right in front of me which was unhealthy for all of us including my son…he said I was no longer a victim and I needed to listen to the ones who love me and care for me because they have been there holding my grown…he said I was dragging all of them down with me, and it needed to stop.

I asked him what he suggested I should do? He said…Stop worrying about everyone else around you, because you have enough in your plate already as it is…start surrounding yourself with positive people and start taking the bull by the horns, I will be right here at your corner supporting you…take a stand for yourself for once in your life and stop thinking with your heart and start using your head just be positive and you’ll see how everything will fall into place.

I took those words in and for days I resided them in my head…my best friend used the same exact words, she said: you need  to value yourself and remember that today is just the beginning, tomorrow is already gone…I tell you this things because I truly love you, not because I want to make you cry or hurt you but because I care, its time you let go of your past and move forward…you are no longer a victim and have not been for the past 10 years.

After that, I changed my life around completely…1 year before that I was always depressed and sick…I weight 249 pounds, suffered 2 heart attacks, was suffering from PTSD and severe depression moods…I was constantly in and out of doctors office and hospitals…I’m a diabetic my sugar was always out of control, not to mention my cholesterol level…I decided to listen and began to push aside all the negative people in my life aside as well as all the negative attitude I was holding inside me for years, began to stand up tall and use my head not thinking with my heart to avoid feeling sorry for the negative beings who I was being surrounded by…I became motivated, stronger each day and fought against those who wanted to bring me harm…I prayed everyday and began surrounding myself with positive people who wanted only best for me…the changes in my life were great changes and I am happy to say they get better…I am healthier and happier than ever, I am no longer a victimized by anyone, I found the way out of the cycle after 10 years of being in it…I have improved my life by 95% my heart is strong, I am now weighing 165 pounds and I am stress free…I no longer carry weight on my shoulders or drag anyone down.

My message is this…

if you have someone in your life who is positive enough to care about you, just listen…it doesn’t matter what the problem you’re facing is…we all have issues that need to be resolved and some are worse than others, remember the cycle is not meant to stay in it…get out…you can do it…think positive and let go…there’s an opening waiting for you to say…I’m done with all this I’m moving forward and it’s starts today…you can do it…I know you can…there are so many people out there experiencing all sorts of different issues, I’m sure you want to make a change, its time to start doing it now, you can mend your broken heart, you can heal your wounds, stay strong thing positive and reach out, don’t be afraid to take that step…take the chance to make it better…Life is beautiful enjoy it, live it to the fullest and smile again.

I am Jeannette Moreno, I survived domestic violence, I left my batterer on July, 23, 2003…. and today, I am FREE!!!

 

One Response to ““I am Free””

  1. Anthony Onyeador October 8, 2013 at 2:30 am #

    Nice Recovery.

    You’ve seen that its only you that can pave a way for yourself and I’m glad you’re Free. Its not an easy task for since 2003, you’ve been very different and plying a path that may have taken your life and so like its said, the end justify the means. No longer would you have to wonder who reads it from now, for One may need to know how “Positive” he/she may be or apply itself while reading your Story. I truly want to commend you for the great deal of courage to grow in the reins of Positive Life though this is lacking in the world Today.

    Yet, I do ask you to please, if you can, return to what you were doing. That is being humanitarian in your little way but this time reach out to those who can’t repay you and as well to those whom your hunch feels is in great need. You’re free to carry those who sponsored your change of Good Living such as your Family and Friends who supported you. It can be as vocational or recreational activity if its well planned. This I ask for the reason that the World was already Cold and harsh before you met it and it requires your little effort irrespective of what “Others” think. Also, You may feel you want to resassert yourself having prioritised on the major things that keep you busy and yet feel that your “Old” Self seems better. When this comes, fight off the Old self with prayers and support from those who has been by your side but see how to connect with the techniques or ideas it presents, for the average human being is both blessed with Talents and Weaknesses and so those whom you help or cry to help is also as you are but trying to see if there’s Hope.

    Now you’ve seen that its not what you think. Your first Commenter is also as striving to be good in his own way as you do but in a pretty different from yours. I’m in a Country where people feel that you can easily hide information from and as each day draws near, the hope is fainter in high proportions. This country is Nigeria. Add your knowledge of what you know or come to find out which is but a fraction to what I’ve said which is pretty worse and you’ll come to learn that its about having the right principle and sharing before any other strings is attached. First is how you grow and develop yourself and you do that with others.
    So its time to drop those funny thoughts of “Getting the Right Audience”, you’re an Author and you write so please enjoy writing for those who may use it “Positively” against those who would try to bring out faults in everything you do. You and I know that its the nature of our perception that brings about the Change we want.

    Nice Natural Ocurrence by the Way, it shows you that even Animals do the Same!

Leave a Reply

